Welcome !

My name is Stephane and I live in Canada, in the Montreal area (province of Quebec).

This site presents my antique cars

This is about a Citroën 15 Six, a Citroën SM currently under restoration, a second SM in very good condition and a Jaguar E-Type. You’ll find also a Citroën 2CV, which I owned for 2 years.

Everything is there. Happy reading !

More than 10 years of content of the previous site has been transferred here, so you don’t miss anything.

Introduction

I found so many valuable information on the Internet about our beloved classic Citroën’s that I thought it was my turn to communicate. I even try to do it in english. That’s quite an effort for me because you’ll see that my english is far from perfect 😉 So, with pictures and more or less technical comments, I try to share my passion, hoping that it could inspire or help some of you.

Warning

Caution: pictures make everything shine and look slightly better than it should, so don’t forget that what you see on this site is not always so nice in reality.

The cars

1954 Citroën 15 Six H

Bought en 2012

1972 Citroën SM

Bought in 2003… and under restoration ever since 😉

1974 Citroën SM I.E.

Bought in 2006

1970 Jaguar E-Type 2+2

In my little collection since 2008

1984 Citroën 2CV6 Special

Bought in 2006 and sold in 2008

Garage

Toy box and workshop at the same time

Latest news

SM: Restoration restarts !

Restoration restarts, after a pause of more than 6 years! I'm hearing you saying "it's about time" and you are absolutely right 😉 In 2018 I called again the specialist who made the previous body work on this car, Gilles Lemay (www.garagegilleslemay.com), because I'm...

read more

Thank you Patchou

Thanks again Cyril, also known as Patchou. You host my little website for 15 years, this is very kind. And of course, the day you are tired of it, don't hesitate to tell me, ok?

read more

15 Six: Hydraulic pump overhaul

The leak I suspected on the hydraulic pump was confirmed so I gave it to my usual mechanic with a seal kit. Inside, the pump was ugly! The pump body was so damaged that we replaced it. This intervention on the pump was the occasion to paint it in black and do the same...

read more

15 Six: Finishing touches after being back on the road

After all the work done during winter 2012-2013, I knew that it won't be perfect and that putting the car back on the road would show-up new problems. I started by doing very short test drives, less than two weeks before the long trip to Saratoga Springs for the...

read more

15 Six: Hydraulic overhaul

Here is the hydraulic portion of the mechanical overhaul done during winter 2012-2013, in fact more winter and spring. After having restarted the engine, first without the hydraulic system, I then worked on this part.This work should ensure a good reliability of the...

read more

15 Six: End of the mechanical overhaul

In May it was time to put everything back together. I took some days off and I got some help to speed-up this work, knowing that the goal is still to have the car operational for June.When it started, I noticed that the engine was not revving correctly. The first road...

read more

15 Six: Mechanical overhaul, continued again

Here is the continuation of this work during the second half of March, and April, by painting the drivetrain, preparing the engine bay and reassembling the front brakes.I'm almost ready tu put the drivetrain back into the car. I just have to reinstall the brake line,...

read more

15 Six: Mechanical overhaul continued

During February, I took advantage of the last availability from Claude before he leaves for a month or so, so quickly, just a few hours before he comes in, I prepare the timing cover and the crank plate so we can then close this side of the engine. I paint these parts...

read more

15 Six: Beginning of the mechanical overhaul

After having removed the engine and gearbox, there are still parts to remove and it's the beginning of the cleaning work.I'm almost done removing parts. I have a lot of cleaning to do, it's boring but mandatory and, after that, putting everything together will be much...

read more

15 Six: Engine removal for overhaul

During December 2012, I worked on the drivetrain removal, because I wanted to do a good cleaning but also to do a general inspection. On top of the cleaning operation, I plan to replace some damaged parts (cracked exhaust manifold, damaged steering boots, loose...

read more

15 Six: Repair attempt on the height corrector

Just after the purchase of the Traction, I wanted to fix the leak on the height corrector. It didn't go as planned ;-)I've been told to install a DS or SM corrector (there are identical I believe) and use a "T-shape" fitting to connect both outputs (one for each...

read more

A newcomer, a Traction Avant!

HUGE NEWS: there is a new car in my garage, a Traction Avant and more precisely a 15 H. So let me introduce it on this new page. I plan to spend time on this Traction during this winter to bring it in good drivable condition for next spring, so I should have updates...

read more

SM IE: Repair of the interior heater

During winter 2011-2012 I finally started working on the interior heating system, which was not working. I don't use this car during winter but during the fall season a working heating system is useful and any ways I like when everything works. When I removed the...

read more

SM: The body is back

I finally picked-up the car in April because I had to wait for clean and dry roads because in Canada we don't have a choice, we have to deal with the winter conditions. I'm very happy with the result of this work but of course I'm also disappointed that it was not...

read more

SM: End of the body work session

In February 2011, work is almost done, I just have to put the wheels back onto the body and get it back home. This time it was mainly about finishing work. Here are some pictures:Here is the end of an important step in this restoration but unfortunately everything has...

read more

SM: New body work session, continued

In September 2009, I went to the "Art and the automobile" event in Here is more progress, at the end of the year 2010. This is about sandblasting and metal work. I' happy with the progress and I'm also happy to have decided to have the body sandblasted because, as...

read more

SM: New body work session

Time after time, I have discovered more and more defects on the body. I had to admit the truth, the work done previously on this body is bad: bad preparation before painting, bad paint, rust marks and metal work not trustable. During summer of 2010, I call a new body...

read more

SM IE: Replacement of the brake accumulator

Since I have this car, I can't get rid of some vibrations I feel some times on the brake pedal, when I brake. After a few bleeding operations and because I don't know how old is the brake accumulator, I thought it should be a good idea to replace it, hoping it could...

read more

5 E-Type Jaguar at Ogden

In September 2009, I went to the "Art and the automobile" event in Ogden (Quebec), this is a 1h30 drive south from Montreal. There are not so much cars there but we can find 5 Jaguar E-Type, that's pretty unusual. Some photographers were covering the event...

read more

Contact

You can contact me by email.
The address is stephanepalumbo at outlook.com.
Replace “at” by a @ character and you’ll get the full address.
Sorry, I don’t show the full address here to avoid spams.

Bienvenue !

Mon nom est Stéphane et je réside dans la région de Montréal, au Québec.

Ce site vous présente mes voitures anciennes

Il s’agit d’une Citroën 15 Six, une Citroën SM en cours de restauration, une deuxième SM en très bon état et une Jaguar E-Type. Vous trouverez également une Citroën 2CV, que j’ai possédée pendant 2 ans.

Tout est là. Bonne lecture !

Plus de 10 ans de contenu du site précédent ont été transférés ici, donc vous ne manquez rien.

Introduction

J’ai trouvé tellement d’informations intéressantes sur Internet concernant ces chères anciennes Citroën que je me suis dit que je pouvais participer à mon tour à la diffusion de l’information. Au travers de photos et de descriptions plus ou moins techniques, j’esssaie donc de transmettre ma passion en espérant que cela puisse inspirer ou donner un coup de main à certains.

Avertissement

Attention, les photos gomment les défauts et font tout briller ou presque, alors c’est toujours plus beau sur ce site qu’en réalité.

Les voitures

Citroën 15 Six H 1954

Acquise en 2012

Citroën SM 1972

Acquise en 2003… et en cours de restauration depuis 😉

Citroën SM I.E. 1974

Acquise en 2006

Jaguar E-Type 2+2 1970

Dans ma petite collection depuis 2008

Citroën 2CV6 Special 1984

Acquise en 2006 puis revendue en 2008

Garage

À la fois coffre à jouets et atelier

Dernières nouvelles

SM: La restauration redémarre !

La restauration reprend, après plus de 6 ans d'interruption ! Je vous entends dire "enfin" et vous avez parfaitement raison 😉 Au cours de l'année 2018, j'ai repris contact avec le carrossier qui avait travaillé sur la coque la dernière fois, Gilles Lemay...

lire plus

Merci Patchou

Merci encore Cyril, alias Patchou. Tu héberges mon petit site depuis 15 ans, c'est très gentil de ta part. Et bien sûr le jour où tu en as assez, tu n'hésites pas à me le dire, ok ?

lire plus

15 Six: Révision de la pompe hydraulique

La fuite suspectée au niveau de la pompe hydraulique s'est confirmée alors j'ai confié la pompe mon mécanicien habituel en fournissant un kit de joints. L'intérieur n'était pas beau à voir ! Le corps de la pompe était dans un état lamentable alors nous l'avons...

lire plus

15 Six: Petits travaux après la remise en route

Après les gros travaux de l'hiver 2012-2013, je me doutais bien que tout ne serait pas parfait et que remettre la voiture sur la route allait mettre en évidence de nouveaux problèmes. J'ai commencé à effectuer des trajets assez courts, moins de deux semaines avant le...

lire plus

15 Six: Remise en état hydraulique

Voici la partie hydraulique de la révision générale réalisée durant l'hiver 2012-2013, en fait plutôt l'hiver et le printemps. Après la remise en route du moteur, sans l'hydraulique dans un premier temps, je me suis occupé de cette partie.Ces travaux devraient assurer...

lire plus

15 Six: Fin de la remise en état mécanique

Le mois de mai a été occupé au remontage. J'ai pris des jours de congés et je me suis fait aider pour avancer plus rapidement, sachant que l'objectif est toujours que la voiture puisse rouler au début du mois de juin.Lors de la remise en route, je me suis aperçu que...

lire plus

15 Six: Nouvelle suite de la remise en état mécanique

Voici la suite des travaux au courant de la deuxième moitié du mois de mars et en avril, avec notamment la peinture de l'ensemble moteur-boîte, la préparation du compartiment moteur et le remontage des freins avant.Je suis quasiment prêt à remettre l'ensemble...

lire plus

15 Six: Suite de la remise en état mécanique

Durant le mois de février, j'ai profité d'une disponibilité de Claude, qui allait ensuite s'absenter pour un mois environ, alors ni une ni deux, quelques heures avant son arrivée, je prépare puis peints le carter de distribution et la couronne du démarreur pour que...

lire plus

15 Six: Début de la remise en état mécanique

Après la dépose de l'ensemble moteur et boîte de vitesses, il y a encore du travail de dépose et c'est le début du grand nettoyage. J'en ai à peu prés terminé avec le démontage. J'ai beaucoup de nettoyage à faire, c'est très fastidieux mais indispensable et ensuite ce...

lire plus

15 Six: Dépose moteur pour révision

Durant le mois de décembre 2012, je m'occupe de la dépose de l'ensemble moteur-boîte, parce que je veux faire un bon nettoyage mais aussi pour faire une bonne vérification.En dehors du nettoyage, je prévois remplacer de nombreuses pièces endommagées (collecteur...

lire plus

15 Six: Tentative de réparation du correcteur de hauteur

Juste après l'achat de la Traction, j'ai voulu m'attaquer au correcteur de hauteur qui fuyait beaucoup. Ça ne s'est pas passé comme prévu ;-)On me conseille d'installer un correcteur de DS ou SM (ils sont identiques je crois) et d'utiliser un raccord en "T" pour...

lire plus

Une nouvelle venue, une Traction !

GROSSE NOUVELLE: il y a une nouvelle venue dans mon garage, une Traction Avant et plus précisément une 15 H. Elle est présentée sur cette nouvelle page. Je compte passer du temps sur cette Traction durant l'hiver pour qu'elle puisse bien rouler au printemps prochain,...

lire plus

SM IE: Réparation du système de chauffage

Durant l'hiver 2011-2012 je me suis enfin attaqué au système de chauffage intérieur qui ne fonctionnait pas. Je n'utilise pas cette voiture en hiver mais en automne le chauffage peut être utile et de toute façon j'aime bien que tout fonctionne. Lorsque j'avais déposé...

lire plus

SM: La coque est de retour

C'est finalement au mois d'avril que j'ai rapatrié la coque car il a fallu que j'attende que les routes soient praticables et sèches, on est au Canada alors on n'a pas le choix que de prendre en compte les conditions hivernales ! Je suis très content du résultat des...

lire plus

SM: Fin de la campagne de travaux sur la coque

En février 2011, les travaux sont quasiment terminés, il ne reste plus qu'à remettre la coque sur ses roues et la rapatrier. Cette fois-ci il s'agissait surtout de travaux de finition. Voici les photos:Voilà la fin d'une étape importante dans cette restauration mais...

lire plus

SM: Suite des travaux sur la coque

Voici l'avancement des travaux à la fin de l'année 2010. Il s'agit de travaux de sablage et tôlerie. Je suis globalement content de l'avancement et je suis également content d'avoir décidé de faire sabler la coque parce que, comme vous allez le voir, il y avait bien...

lire plus

SM: Nouveaux travaux sur la coque

Plus le temps passait, plus je découvrais des défauts sur la coque. Il fallait se rendre à l'évidence, les travaux effectués sur cette coque ont été bâclés: zones mal préparées ou mal peintes, traces de rouilles et travaux de tôlerie douteux. Durant l'été 2010, je...

lire plus

SM IE: Remplacement de l’accumulateur de frein

Depuis que j'ai cette voiture, je n'arrive pas à me débarrasser d'une vibration qui se manifeste parfois dans la pédale de frein, lors d'un freinage. Après plusieurs purges et comme je ne connais pas l'âge de l'accumulateur de frein, je me suis dit que ce serait une...

lire plus

5 Jaguar E-Type à Ogden

En septembre 2009, je participe au rassemblement "L'art et l'automobile" à Ogden (Québec), c'est à environ 1h30 de route au Sud de Montréal. Il y a peu de voitures sur place mais il se trouve qu'il y a 5 Jaguar E-Type, ce qui est assez inhabituel. Quelques...

lire plus

Contact

Vous pouvez me contacter par email.
L’adresse est stephanepalumbo chez outlook.com.
Remplacez « chez » par un caractère @ et vous avez l’adresse complète.
Désolé, je ne montre pas l’adresse en entier ici pour limiter les spams.